Sampford Courtenay Parish Council

MINUTES OF SAMPFORD COURTENAY ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING.

Clerk to the Council :- M.Pratt, Higher Town, Sampford Courtenay, 01837 82285

TUESDAY 7TH MAY 2019

- 1) Cllr Coleman commenced the meeting with a moments silence in respect of the sad news of the recent death of Cllr Jon Clatworthy-Edwards. The thoughts and condolences of SCPC are with his wife and children.
- 2) Cllr Coleman then asked that his thanks be noted to the resigning Councillors John Palmer, Mathew McIlwraith & Heather Smith for their work and support of SCPC over their terms of office. He then welcomed the new Councillors Mike Carpenter, Sue Svedang and Bob & Joy Tucker.
- 3) Election of Chairperson the Clerk then conducted a ballot for the Election of Chairperson and Cllr Michele Wilson was duly elected 6:1.
- 4) Signing of Acceptance of Office Form by newly elected Chairperson Cllr Michele Wilson then signed her Acceptance of Office form, witnessed by the Clerk. Acceptance of Office forms were also submitted by all councillors.
- 5) Declaration of Register of Interests were completed by all Councillors and handed to Clerk to register with WDBC.
- 6) Declaration of candidates' Election Expenses (even if nil return) were completed and handed to Clerk for registering with WDBC
- 7) Minutes of AGM 2018 held on 2nd May 2018 were agreed and signed by the New Chair.
- 8) Election of Vice Chairperson the Clerk conducted a ballot for election of Vice Chair and Bob Tucker was duly elected 5:2.
- 9) Co-option of parishioner's to fill 2 vacancies on SCPC Cllr Jon Friend kindly agreed to be co-opted back onto SCPC until other parishioners stand to fill the vacancies. If any parishioner would like to put themselves forward to fill these vacancies please contact the Clerk or one of your councillors.
- 10) Election of Governance Committee Cllrs Bob Tucker, Colin Coleman, Susan Svedang & Mike Carpenter
- 11) Election of Planning Committee Cllrs Mike Carpenter, Michele Wilson, Colin Coleman & John Friend
- 12) Appointment of other Council representatives :
 - a) Footpath Lengthsperson Mike Carpenter & Sue Svedang
 - b) Monthly Playground Report Mike Carpenter & Bob Tucker
 - c) OkeRail Representative John Friend
 - d) Eastern Links Representative Joy Tucker
 - e) Village Hall Representative Mike Carpenter
- 13) **Adoption of <u>SCPC Financial Regulations/</u>** Standing Orders these legal SCPC documents were endorsed and signed by the Chair as needing no amendments at the current time.
- 14) Any other business there being no other business the AGM closed at 7.30 pm

Marion Pratt			
Parish Clerk.			