Sampford Courtenay Parish Council www.sampfordcourtenay-pc.gov.uk



MINUTES OF SAMPFORD COURTENAY PARISH COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – WEDNESDAY 7th May 2025 6.30 pm Sampford Courtney Village Hall.

1: Welcome: The Chair welcomed all present with the following brief introduction. The chair reflected back on what might have been happening in the village on the eve of the announcement of Victory in Europe (VE) Day. Life in this rural area of Devon would have been turned upside down, with many families waiting for loved ones to return. For the last 6 years lives had been turned upside down but, following the announcement celebrations would have broken out and the community would have joined together to rejoice, moving forward, they would rebuild and regenerate under the freedom that had been achieved through the sacrifice of those who gave their lives for what we have today.

2: Present. Council Members: Cllrs M Wilson (Chair) M Carpenter, P Collins, A Green, J Moesel, J McIlwraith, V Smedley. T Squire Also Present: Alan Matthewman (Parish Clerk & RFO) & 2 Members of the public

3: Apologies for Absence – None

4: Election of Chair for 2025-26. To enable this to take place the current chair, Cllr Wilson, stood down and the chair of the meeting was taken over by the clerk. There was only one nomination, from Cllr Carpenter, that Cllr Wilson continue as chair of the

council for a further year. This was seconded by Cllr. Collins and approved unanimously.
5: Election of Vice-Chair: The clerk handed the chair back to Cllr Wilson who asked for any pominations for the election of Vice Chair for 2025 26. The Chair proposed that Cllr. Carpenter

nominations for the election of Vice-Chair for 2025-26. The Chair proposed that Cllr. Carpenter be re-appointed in office for a further year, seconded by Cllr Green and approved unanimously.

6: Approval of the minutes of the previous AGM held in May 2024:

The Chair proposed that the minutes be approved as a true record of the meeting, seconded by Cllr Carpenter and approved by those present at that meeting.

7. Election of Committees and Groups (See Appendix A).

7.1 Governance Committee:

The chair proposed that Cllr Carpenter continue as chair of this committee. Seconded by Cllr Collins and approved unanimously

7.2 Election of Planning Committee.

The chair proposed that Cllr Carpenter continue as chair of this committee. Seconded by Cllr Green and approved unanimously.

7.3: Appointment of other council Representatives:

(See Appendix A)

8: Adoption of SCPC Financial Regulations:

The chair confirmed that, in accordance with the advice given by the Foundation Award Assessors, it was proposed that the 2024 NALC regulations be adopted. Seconded by Cllr Carpenter and approved unanimously.

9: Adoption of SCPS Standing Orders and amended policies:

This had been pre-circulated with change of clerk and his contact details together with a schedule of the revision dates on all policy documents. Proposed by the Chair, seconded by Cllr Mcllwraith and approved unanimously.

10: Approval of Accounts for the Council Year 2024-25:

These had been pre-circulated and were very close to the expected budget for the year. Proposed by the Chair and Seconded by Cllr. Smedley this was approved unanimously.

11: Meeting closed at 18:55. Next AGM to be held in May 2026

Appendix A: SCPC Officers and Committee Members 2024/25

Chair does not sit on the Governance Committee but otherwise, both the Chair and Vice Chair are ex-officio members of all committees free to attend as is considered desirable'

The Committees are: **Governance Committee:** a sub-committee who consider any grievances or complaints against the Parish Council. The Committee does not consider any complaints or grievances against members of the council. These are made to the West Devon Monitoring Officer; <u>www.westdevon.gov.uk</u>

Cllr Carpenter (Chair) with Cllr's Mcllwraith, Collins, Moesel & Smedley

Planning committee: this is a sub-group of councillors that can be called upon to consider applications that fall outside the council timetable.

Cllr Mcllwraith (Chair) with Cllr's Carpenter, Green, Squire, Collins & Moesel.

Footpath Lengthsperson: A councillor who walks the footpaths within the parish twice yearly and reports to the Council, which forms the basis for P3 funding applications to DCC *Cllr Carpenter (Lead) with Cllr Green and nominated Parishioners*

Okerail Representative: Councillor attends meetings to consider the reinstatement of the rail route through Okehampton *Clir Mcliwraith*

Village Green:Undertakes monthly checks and reports on the maintenance of the Village Green and the condition of the Play Equipment. *Clir Carpenter*

Defibrillator Monitor: Weekly checks on the Defibrillator and monthly reports to SWAST.

Cllr Green

Eastern Links Representative: quarterly meetings with local councils to discuss local topics.

Cllr Wilson

Village Hall Representative: Acts as liaison between Village Hall and the Parish Council.

Cllr Green.

SCEnSus Sub-Committee. It was decided to discontinue this group but to incorporate the work in Council Policy and activities.

Dartmoor Rail Working Committee. A group of local councils, agencies and members of the public liaising with GWR and Network Rail with a view to the opening of Sampford Courtney Station

Cllr Mcllwraith & Cllr Moesel